Baylor Bears schedule & tickets

The Baylor football team plays at Floyd Casey Stadium, located a few miles away from campus. It was called Baylor Stadium until 1988. The stadium was built in 1950 and currently officially seats 50,000 fans. The University is in the process of building a $250 million dollar New Baylor Stadium located within the current campus on the banks of the Brazos river.

The Bears compete in the Big 12 conference and will enter their 115th year of football competition in the 2013 season. Over the program’s history, the Bears have won 9 bowl games and 6 major conference titles. The football program experienced a period of success lasting from 1970s to the mid-1990s during the tenure of head coach Grant Teaff.

Since joining the Big 12 conference in 1996, Baylor has held a 28–101 record in regular season play, with its best season coming in 2011 when they finished with a 6-3 conference record and 10-3 overall. In 2004, Baylor defeated its first ranked opponent since 1998, #16 ranked Texas A&M, by a score of 35-34 in overtime on a two-point conversion.[2] In 2005 the team opened 3-0 for the first time since 1996 and finished 5-6; Baylor also won its first Big 12 road game at Iowa State. Also despite a disappointing 4–8 record in 2006, the Bears swept the Big 12 North portion of its conference schedule and won 3 conference games in a season for the first time since joining the Big 12 in 1996. On November 18, 2007, Baylor fired football coach Guy Morriss and announced on November 28, 2007 that former University of Houston head coach Art Briles as the new coach. During the 2010 season, Briles led Baylor to finish with a 7-5 regular season record.[3]

The 2010 season was a breakthrough for the Baylor Bears even though they suffered an early season loss to rival TCU. Baylor earned an invitation to the Texas Bowl in Houston after finishing the regular season with a 7-5 record. The Bears subsequently lost the Texas Bowl to Illinois, however. In the regular season the Bears victories included Big 12 conference wins over Kansas and Kansas St, as well as road wins over Colorado and Texas.

Building on their 2010 winning season, the 2011 Baylor Bears went on to a 9-3 (6-3 Big XII) regular season, finishing with five straight wins including wins against #5 Oklahoma, #25 Texas Tech, and #22 Texas. These wins helped place Robert Griffin III at the top of the Heisman Trophy voting; he became the first Baylor player to win the award and the first Baylor player since Don Trull in 1963 to factor significantly in the voting. The Bears celebrated their successful season with a 2nd consecutive bowl appearance by being selected for the Valero Alamo Bowl in San Antonio, TX. The Bears went on to beat the Washington Huskies 67-56, finishing the 2011 season with a 10-3 record and ranked #19 by the BCS & Coaches Poll.

During the 2012 football season Baylor shocked the college football world by soundly beating #1 Kansas State in Waco 52-24. A 12 yard Florence touchdown rush in the first quarter gave Baylor a 14-7 lead which was never relinquished. The Baylor defense highlighted the game with a stout goal-line stand in the 4th quarter and intercepted Heisman hopeful Collin Klein three times, the last in the endzone to set up an 80-yard touchdown run by Lache Seastrunk. The victory over Kansas State represented the program’s first ever win over a #1 ranked team and sparked a 3-game win streak for Baylor (with a 52-45 overtime victory over Texas Tech in Cowboys Stadium and a 41-34 victory in Waco over #23 Oklahoma State). During the OSU game Seastrunk again achieved recognition for a 76-yard touchdown rush, outrunning the Oklahoma State secondary despite suffering a quadriceps cramp near midfield.


Category: Baylor Bears

Comments are closed.